How Forever Feels by Laura Drewry

Synopsis:
25238945From USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry comes a warm and witty new Friends First novel—perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. How Forever Feels is a sweet tale about the one that got away . . . and the one that came back.

Maya McKay’s heart is as big as Jack Rhodes’s shoulders are broad. Their chemistry is out of control, but it could never work between them because Jack is more than just best friends with her cheating ex-husband—they’re like brothers. Maya, the sensitive, practical florist, has given up on love and is ready to settle for like. But now that Jack’s around again, he’s stirring up old feelings—and turning Maya’s fantasies into irresistible reality.

Jack blew his chance with Maya years ago when he stepped aside for his best friend, Will, and he’s still kicking himself about it. Maya was promised forever once before, and she got burned. But when Jack realizes that second chances aren’t going to fall out of the sky, he seizes the moment—and the woman he’s always loved—to show her how forever truly feels.

Find it on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25238945-how-forever-feels
Preorder it on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1hpbh9q

My Review:
3.5 stars — I received a copy of this ebook through netgalley!!!

All in all a great conclusion to this series.  I ended up loving the first half of the book more than the last half, but that could be because I read it over a longer period of time when I only had snatches of moments to actually fit in some reading…so I wasn’t able to stay absorbed in the story as I usually would have.

Jack was all that and a bag of chips…  So sweet and adorable, with such a heartbreaking past.  I LOVED how much he adored Maya, and how shy and sort of bumbly he could be.  When they’re first reunited I totally felt all of their friend chemistry and how it could turn into more.

I had a bit of a harder time getting a read on Maya…but I think that might have been partially me.  I loved her snort laughs and basically all the things that Jack saw in her, but…I don’t know.  She just didn’t leave as big an impression as I was expecting.

In the end the loss of a star and a half was due to little things adding up.  I wasn’t all that taken with the Griffin sideplot…it just didn’t feel necessary to the story.  The sexual chemistry was only so so for me.  And it was just really hard to understand why Jack was best friends with Will after all the horrible things Will did.  I get his loyalty to the family, but I don’t get the best friends thing with Will….we were mostly TOLD that the chemistry still existed there, but weren’t really shown it, if that makes sense.

As with all the stories in this series, the cast of secondary characters was phenomenal….  It was AWESOME to see all the established couples back and hanging out — Jack fit right in with all of them.  And the girls nights and just altogether great girl friendships were exactly what I wanted to read — they’re such different characters, but they fit so well together and really offer each other support.  And of course there was sweetie Petey…I’m a dog lover, so he was always a welcome addition.

As a Canadian, can I just say how much total fun it was to read a series set in my country?  To recognize little things here and there?  It’s not like it made much difference in the storyline, but it’s the little things that make this Canadian happy….;)

Lenoreo_small

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s